2023 NCAA baseball tournament scores, bracket, College World Series schedule, regional matchups, dates

2023 NCAA baseball tournament scores, bracket, College World Series schedule, regional matchups, dates

The 2023 NCAA Division I Baseball Tournament got started on Friday, and 16 four-team regionals are in action this weekend. The 64-team bracket -- which was unveiled Monday -- will be whittled down to 16 teams in the coming days. Wake Forest is the No. 1 overall seed this year, and big-name schools like LSU, Florida, Arkansas, Clemson, Vanderbilt and Stanford all have their eyes on the 2023 national title.

Below we have everything fans need to know about college baseball's annual tournament, from the format and dates to the bracket and top-seeded teams. Let's dive in.

NCAA Baseball Tournament format

The first round of play is known as the regional and it's a round-robin, double-elimination format. Each of the 16 No. 1 seeds hosts its respective four-team regional, when possible. Each of the 16 regionals is seeded one through four. In each region, No. 1 faces No. 4, and No. 2 faces No. 3 on the first day of action. The winners of those two games then play each other, while the losers play an elimination game.The winner of each regional advances to the super regional. The super regional, which includes a total of 16 teams, is a best-of-three series format.The winners of the super regionals -- eight teams in all -- advance to the College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska.The College World Series is a double-elimination format until the final two teams are left standing. At that point, the slates are wiped clean and it's a best-of-three series to determine the national champion. 

NCAA Tournament, College World Series dates

Regionals: June 2-5Super Regionals: June 9-12College World Seres start: June 15College World Series finals: June 24-26

NCAA baseball scores, top seeds

The field of 64 includes eight national seeds, which you may consider the pre-tourney favorites to reach Omaha. Here are this year's eight national seeds: 

Wake Forest (47-10)Florida (44-14)Arkansas (41-16)Clemson (43-17)LSU (43-15)Vanderbilt (41-18)Virginia (45-12)Stanford (38-16)

If a national seed wins its regional, then it hosts the super regional when possible. Otherwise, the sites of the super regionals will be announced after the regional round concludes. Regional play gets underway on Friday, June 2. Now, here are the matchups for all 16 regionals -- reminder that each region is seeded one through four and is hosted by one of the 16 national seeds.

Winston-Salem Regional

Hosted by No. 1 national seed Wake Forest.

June 2: Wake Forest 12, George Mason 0June 2: Maryland 7, Northeastern 2June 3: George Mason 11, Northeastern 3June 3: Wake Forest 21, Maryland 6

Gainesville Regional

Hosted by No. 2 national seed Florida.

June 2: Florida 3, Florida A&M 0June 2: Texas Tech 3, UConn 2June 3: UConn 9, Florida A&M 6June 3: Texas Tech 5, Florida 4

Fayetteville Regional

Hosted by No. 3 national seed Arkansas.

June 2: Arkansas 13, Santa Clara 6June 2: TCU 12, Arizona 4June 3: Santa Clara 9, Arizona 3

Clemson Regional

Hosted by No. 4 national seed Clemson.

June 2: Clemson 12, Lipscomb 5June 2: Tennessee 8, Charlotte 1June 3: Charlotte 9, Lipscomb 2June 3: Tennessee 6, Clemson 5 (F/14)

Baton Rouge Regional

Hosted by No. 5 national seed LSU.

June 2: LSU 7, Tulane 2June 2: Oregon State 18, Sam Houston State 2

Nashville Regional

Hosted by No. 6 national seed Vanderbilt.

June 2: Vanderbilt 12, Eastern Illinois 2June 2: Oregon 5, Xavier 4June 3: Xavier 7, Eastern Illinois 0June 3: Oregon 8, Vanderbilt 7

Charlottesville Regional

Hosted by No. 7 national seed Virginia.

June 2: Virginia 15, Army West Point 1June 2: East Carolina 14, Oklahoma 5June 3: Oklahoma 10, Army West Point 1June 3: Virginia 2, East Carolina 1

Stanford Regional

Hosted by No. 8 national seed Stanford.

June 2: Stanford 13, San Jose State 2June 2: Texas A&M 12, Cal State Fullerton 7June 3: Cal State Fullerton 9, San Jose State 5June 3: Texas A&M 8, Stanford 5

Coral Gables Regional

Hosted by No. 9 national seed Miami.

June 2: Miami 9, Maine 1June 2: Texas 4, Louisiana 2June 3: Louisiana 19, Maine 10June 3: Texas 4, Miami 1

Conway Regional

Hosted by No. 10 national seed Coastal Carolina.

June 2: Rider 11, Coastal Carolina 10June 2: Duke 12, UNC Wilmington 3June 3: Coastal Carolina 12, UNC Wilmington 2June 3: Duke 2, Rider 1

Stillwater Regional

Hosted by No. 11 national seed Oklahoma State.

June 2: Oral Roberts 6, Oklahoma State 4June 2: Washington 9, Dallas Baptist 5June 3: Dallas Baptist 18, Oklahoma State 4June 3: Oral Roberts 15, Washington 12

Lexington Regional

Hosted by No. 12 national seed Kentucky.

June 2: Kentucky 4, Ball State 0June 2: Indiana 12, West Virginia 6June 3: West Virginia 13, Ball State 5June 3: Indiana 5, Kentucky 3

Auburn Regional

Hosted by No. 13 national seed Auburn.

June 2: Penn 6, Auburn 3 (F/11)June 2: Samford 4, Southern Miss 2 (F/10)June 3: Southern Miss 7, Auburn 2June 3: Penn 5, Samford 4

Terre Haute Regional

Hosted by No. 14 national seed Indiana State.

June 2: Indiana State 6, Wright State 5June 2: Iowa 5, North Carolina 4June 3: North Carolina 5, Wright State 0June 3: Indiana State 7, Iowa 4

Columbia Regional

Hosted by No. 15 national seed South Carolina.

June 2: South Carolina 19, Central Connecticut State 1June 2: NC State 5, Campbell 1June 3: Campbell 10, Central Connecticut State 5June 3: South Carolina 6, NC State 3

Tuscaloosa Regional

Hosted by No. 16 national seed Alabama.

June 2: Alabama 4, Nicholls 3June 2: Troy 11, Boston College 10June 3: Boston College 14, Nicholls 6June 3: Alabama 11, Troy 8

College baseball bracket, notes

Here's a link to NCAA.com's full bracket, which includes region vs. region pairings for the super regionals. Now for some quick hit takeaways on the 64-team field laid out above: 

There will be no repeat this year, as reigning national champion Ole Miss (25-29) did not receive a bid. No team has repeated as national champions at the Division I level since South Carolina in 2010 and 2011.
Florida State (23-31) finished with a losing record for the first time ever and missed the postseason for the first time since 1977. Their 44 straight tournament appearances are a record.
Listed alphabetically, the last four teams in were Arizona, Louisiana, Oklahoma State, and Troy. The first four teams out were Arizona State, Kansas State, Kent State, and UC Irvine.The SEC will host a record eight regionals. The state of South Carolina will host three regionals while, for the first time since 2013, the state of Texas will host zero.

All of the above leads up to the College World Series at Omaha's Charles Schwab Field. So who ya got?

Source Link